Unlikely Markets for Potential Lovers Part I.

I am attracted to exceedingly unbalanced people. Of the shamefully large amount of men I have made acquaintance with in the past year, 76% of them have had a sordid history with drugs/alcohol, clinical depression, or an unsettling fetish, 20% have had either small hands, poor vocabulary, or unpleasant speaking voices, and 4% have caused me to act like a psychopath, with their uncanny ability to make me laugh but greater tendency to make me cry. I know. Would I like some cheap sex with that wine? I need a bitch slap straight to the ovaries.

Needless to say, I have questionable taste. It’s not like I intentionally date felons or short-fingered girly men. I just allow my self-involved nature and excuse of looking for a rebound to justify the fact that I am open-minded enough to go out with all types of people, but ultimately too close-minded to take 96% of them seriously. I also can’t spell the word tomorrow without spell check and I still wear a retainer a few nights a week. My roast starts at 9:00. Thanks.

All of this being said, I have discovered that it is incredibly unlikely that there is any man born after 1980 that possesses the six characteristics of my future ex husband. So, I can either:

  1. Become a spinster with a fish bowl full of piranhas and a strong attraction to long underwear.

OR

  1. Open my heart to people who do not meet these requirements but still allow me some sort of happiness.

I am opting for option B, not because the dull ache of my perpetual loneliness keeps me up at night, but because I don’t really think an unmarried woman can truly be considered a spinster until the age of 27. As you can see, I got this.

With this decision in place, I have taken it upon myself to brainstorm some categories of individuals from which I will find my prospective soul mate. These are what I have come up with so far:

1. Married Late Night Television Hosts

A shocking 3% of the pie chart of my heart is dedicated to Craig Ferguson, the late night beast with whom I have been in mild love since 1999. His middle-aged perviness and haphazard comedy make me swoon like a Scottish school girl. Plus, he is attracted to fat girls with stretch marks, as discussed in one of his comedy specials I forget the name of due to fainting. Can you say score?

I’d also like to bed David Letterman. That’s all I have to say about that.

2. Recently injured college athletes

The first week of my freshman year of college was a blur. Finding classes, meeting professors, learning how to flush tampons without clogging the dorm toilets. I was bright-eyed and idealistic, with rosy cheeks and fresh implants, ready to conquer the world with my socially awkward approach to making friends that included walking in on girls in the shower and the “Random Facebook Add.”

The “Random Facebook Add” or the “RFA” otherwise known as the “Reluctant Forced Acquaintanceship” is a tool used by college freshmen in an effort to build the ever important network of co-ed “friends.” While others in my dorm used this to connect with their roommates and future frenemies, I had other plans. I was going to “RFA” every member of the college baseball team.

Dignity dismissed, I was out of control! It didn’t matter what the guy looked like or if he even knew my name. I went all night. One after another, back to back, I didn’t care. My roommate tried to stop me, convince me to have a little self control. I couldn’t. The slutty can of worms was open, and I RFAed like it was paying my bills.

Morning after I woke with a shame deeper than what my father feels after reading each blog entry (love you, dad!). But quickly I realized that not only did all of them accept my RFA, but one even poked me! My cheeks are still flushed from the incident.

For a few days I felt hopeful that all of my meaningless RFAs would pay off and I would soon settle with a borderline attractive sub par baseball player of average height and substantial wealth. This, needless to say, did not happen. Why? Because college athletes want to date trampy girls with back tattoos of butterflies, not 18 year old virgins who plan to stay that way until the right guy comes along and offers them free Maroon 5 tickets. So for a long time I gave up the dream.

Dissed and dismissed...there is no reason I can't get with this faceless man.

It was only while brainstorming this deeply profound and life affirming blog entry that I realized I went about this all wrong! Why was I going for actual college athletes, with self confidence and other better looking sexual prospects to choose from, when there were plenty of discarded, recently injured, reject athletes no one wanted? No friends – no girls – no scholarships – no problem!

3. Disney-animated canines

They say you never forget your first love. I know this to be true. Year after year since I was a wee lass with curly blond pigtails and the mouth of a sailor, I have pined over my first love. A love so great, pure, and filled with my passionate lust for communism that I would be willing to commit to an interspecies affair if it meant all of my romantic intentions could finally be fulfilled. I am referring, of course, to Disney’s very foxy Robin Hood.To this day, he is the hottest thing I have ever seen.

As a runner up for my affections, I must admit I’d also chop off my right arm to be with the Tramp of Lady and. Not only is a he a dirty bad boy that in one of the most underrated film shower scenes of all time, teases his female audience with a quickie train station wash, but he is a straight up P.I.M.P. There’s an entire song dedicated to his bad ass womanizing ways.

4. Women I’ll go after if I am ever bi-curious

If all else fails, I think I will be left with no other option than to embrace my inner lesbian and say “hi” to my “bi.” Now settle down you liberal, commy, sons o’ bitches. I ain’t sayin’ it’s a choice. I do however think that everyone has a little bit of homoeroticism buried deep in their tightie-whitie closet. I don’t know a single woman who does not enjoy staring at, grabbing, or talking about another woman’s boobs or bum. Perhaps it is due to a competitive spirit OR (gasp) it is because of some slight nerve tingling attraction no one wants to acknowledge for fear of sounding like Lady Gaga.

That being said, it’s pretty easy for me to provide a list of ladies I’d lez it up for.

Sophia Bush

Emma Stone

Shakira

Obviously, I have higher standards for women than I do for men.

So…yeah.

I am mentally exhausted.

If I can’t settle down with one of these completely unrealistic options than I am buying stock in Cold Water Creek and heading to the aquarium.

Open to suggestions, comments, and general criticisms of my character.

Love,

The girl who frequently confuses the letter “f” with the number 5

About thegirlwiththeblog

At any given time I can be found moisturizing my elbows and searching for words that rhyme with orange.
This entry was posted in All about men, Distorted views on love and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Unlikely Markets for Potential Lovers Part I.

  1. abichica says:

    great post, its so interesting.. 🙂

  2. smekart says:

    This is one of your very best! It kept me continually amused and made me LOL (laugh out loud for those who don’t know yet) several times. In addition, this witty essay did not make me blush once – I love the pic chart and am in 100% agreement about the foxy Robin Hood…who wouldn’t love that guy? My suggestion..add John Walton of the Waltons (the father not the goofy son)!!! Good job youngest one! 🙂

  3. Banana Boat says:

    I have many comments.

    1. Does this mean i will officially be a “spinster” in 5 months?
    2. I’d take the Tramp over Robin Hood, but what about Balto??
    3. Do i even need to tell you how i feel about Shakira?

    I love you.

    • 1. No. It just means I will be a spinster in 4 years
      2. Tramp is hot as hell, but do you remember when Robin Hood dressed as the crow, kicked archery ass? Umm….yeah…I’m still swooning
      3. Shakira makes me want to speak spanish. Como se llama?

      I love you too 🙂

      • Banana Boat says:

        I forgot about the archery scene…mmmmmmm…. now i know why i’ve always thought that men and bow and arrows are a good mix. But the Tramp still owns my heart.

  4. Lori says:

    I just came across this blog and read everything from oldest to newest, laughed till I accidentally peed (much like the sneeze pee) and bookmarked the site. Keep writing – I’m a fan!

    • You read EVERYTHING?!?! God Bless you, my lady! That is a huge compliment and I’m so glad you enjoy it. Please feel free to subscribe to it or “like” it on Facebook. I am not tech savvy enough to know how to tell you to do that, but if you search out twosortsofpeople.com there is a page.

      Thank you for reading! And as always, be sure to pass it on to friends :):):)

Leave a Reply

